RSS

Free Football Tips For 19th February 2013

19 Feb

Hoping to rebound after Sunday’s dismal performance. All games in the nPower Championship unless stated.

Home wins:

Burnley, Cardiff, Millwall and Crystal Palace*

1/4. Millwall decided to pick tonight for their worst home defeat this season.

Away win:

Watford

1/1.

Under 2.5 goals:

Cardiff, Tranmere (League 1), Aldershot (League 2)

Cardiff and Tranmere games were both under. 2/3

Overall: 4/8 for a 50% Strike Rate.

*8pm kick off – and I won’t be playing this one as Palace are playing my team and I’ve learned my lesson 😉

Champions League Thoughts

I’m very intrigued by the Arsenal/Bayern Munich game – are Bayern Munich proof that there’s not much depth in the Bundesliga after them and Borussia Dortmund? Are Arsenal really as bad as their current price indicates? Well, as far as I can see, Bayern Munich haven’t come up against anyone even remotely as good as Arsenal on their recent travels: their 1-1 draw at Valencia last November is about the nearest they’ve come to playing a side in the same calibre as Arsenal.

Arsenal have played five sides in the more or less the same bracket as Bayern Munich at the Emirates in their last 20 home games: but the problem is that they’ve lost three of those five matches (Manchester City twice and Chelsea) which indicates that Bayern Munich do pose a big threat to Arsenal’s chances of progressing any further.

My overall position on the Champions League is that Bayern Munich are one of the teams that I fancy to do well. If the ‘host country won’t win’ theory holds up, then the Germans should qualify for the semi finals. Laying Arsenal to qualify at 4.5 or better looks like a good move to me.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment